WIE Presentation & Tour Oct 26

Columbus IEEE WIE Affinity Group invites ALL IEEE Columbus members, students, and guest to attend the WIE S-E-A presentation and facility tour.

Please RSVP as soon as possible since the tour is limited to 25 people.

Date: October 26, 2016

Agenda:         6:00pm Refreshment

                        6:30pm S-E-A Presentation and Tour

“Revealing the Cause – An Introduction to Forensic Engineering”, presented by Elaine Castro, P.E.

Location:        S-E-A –Columbus Office

7001 Buffalo Parkway

Columbus, OH 43229



RSVP:  helen.winfrey@mt.com  or           by October 24, 2016


“The mission of IEEE WIE is to facilitate the global recruitment and retention of women in the technical disciplines.  IEEE WIE envisions a vibrant community f IEEE women and men collectively using their diverse talents to innovate for the benefit of humanity”

Posted in Uncategorized

YP Society Event (Oct 5)

Columbus Young Professionals Society (YP) along with The Ohio State University & DeVry University Student IEEE Chapters is holding a presentation on “Future Leaders”

Location: DeVry University, rm 161

Time:  5:30pm, lite dinner provided

RSVP: Johnathan Hiett  <johnathan.hiett@columbus.rr.com>    All members welcome!

Posted in Uncategorized

AP-S/MTT-S Poster Competion

The IEEE AP-S / MTT-S Columbus Chapter is organizing a Graduate Student Poster Competition on “Antennas, Microwaves, and Electromagnetics” to take place at The Ohio State University ElectroScience Laboratory on November 16, 2016 (5pm – 7.30pm). Abstract submissions are solicited from M.Sc. and/or Ph.D. students in the broader catchment area of the IEEE AP-S / MTT-S Columbus Chapter. Accepted abstracts will be invited for poster presentation during the event. Posters will be evaluated by experts, and awards will be presented to the top three (3) posters. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to: antennas (analysis, design, development, measurement, testing); radiation, propagation, and interaction of electromagnetic waves with media; circuits, sensors, devices and systems; applications pertinent to antennas, propagation, circuits, and sensing.

Abstract Submission is NOW OPEN. Please upload your abstracts at the Competition website. The maximum length of a submission is 2 pages (including figures). Templates for submission are available online. Abstracts will be reviewed, and accepted submissions will be invited for poster presentation during the event. Poster Awards: Best posters will be identified by reviewers during the event based on their content, significance, originality, presentation and overall recommendation. First, second and third place winners will be acknowledged with Best Poster Certificates, and will receive monetary awards. Registration/RSVP: Registration/RSVP: Registration/RSVP: No registration fee is required, but please RSVP at the Competition website.

Location: The event will take place at The Ohio State University ElectroScience Laboratory (1330 Kinnear Rd., Columbus, OH, 43212). The ElectroScience Laboratory was established in 1942 and is one of the oldest and largest Radio Frequency (RF) /Optics laboratories in the United States. Free parking is available. Refreshments will be provided for event participants.

Agenda: Poster presentation and review: 5pm – 7pm, Awards: 7pm – 7.30pm

Further Information: Graeme Smith (Chapter Chair, smith.8437@osu.edu), Elias Alwan (Chapter Vice-Chair, alwan.2@osu.edu), Asimina Kiourti (Chapter Secretary/Treasurer, kiourti.1@osu.edu), Satheesh BV (Chapter Logistics and Marketing, bojjavenkatakrishnan.1@osu.edu)
Abstract Submission: October 20, 2016
Acceptance Notification: October 26, 2016
Graduate Student Poster Competition: November 16, 2016

Posted in Uncategorized

AP-MTT Society Event (Oct 12)

IEEE AP-MTT Chapter Presents:

RF Platforms for Research: National Instruments and Ettus Overview, Kitt Farrar

Date: 12:00 PM – 01:00 PM, Wednesday, October 12th, 2016

Place: ElectroScience Lab, The Ohio State University, MRC Conference Room #132, 1330 Kinnear Road, Columbus, OH 43212 (free parking is available)

Note: Lunch provided to those who register: http://tinyurl.com/jq6h43w

Agenda:  General overview of applications and tools for the design, simulation, prototyping, and measuring for SDR. Leveraging USRP and PXI COTS hardware and software tools to increase efficiency implementing RF research solutions including…Radio communication, MIMO, Open FPGAs for real-time analysis, data reduction, and other custom capabilities, Record and playback, Navigation/GNSS Simulation, Research and grant collaboration, NOTE: Short demonstrations throughout, may include some videos of more advanced system setups.

Bio:  Kitt Farrar is a Specialist for RF and wireless test and research for National Instruments and Ettus, with 17 years of experience in the electronics instrumentation field.

Posted in Uncategorized

Section Officer Nominations (due Oct 18)


Columbus IEEE Section is seeking nominations for the following positions to serve January 2017 through December 2018.  Elections will be held in November (time and place TBD at our Sept 29 Exec Comm Mtg).


Vice Chair



If you are interested in serving your fellow IEEE Columbus professionals please submit – Position Statements and Biographies of candidate(s) to John Pax jpax@devy.edu by Oct 18.


Posted in Uncategorized

Section Meeting (Sept 29)

Date: Sept 29, 2016

Columbus Executive Committee Mtg – all members highly encouraged to attend and get involved!  $35 gift card raffle! 

Time: 6pm, lite dinner provided.

Location: Ohio State, Dreese Labs, rm 260


  • Social – Meet our students.
  • Sponsorship of (2) IEEE individuals for WIE East Conference in Boston on Dec 1-3.
  • Upcoming election nominations, to be held in Nov, place TBD.
  • Dec Appreciation Dinner, award nominations.
  • Society chair reports
  • Tour

RSVP:  jpax@devry.edu by Sept 25.

Posted in Uncategorized

Columbus Section & Communications/Computer Society Joint Mtg (Sept 13)


How the Columbus Metropolitan Library Integrates Electronics

INCLUDING – A tour of the wonderful new Columbus Downtown Library!

Kristine Cook, MLS, Librarian
Columbus Metropolitan Library │ Main Library
96 S. Grant Avenue │ Columbus, OH 43215

SEPTEMBER 13th @ 6:00 PM
Room 2A Main Library

Light meal provided

Please RSVP to solblack@ieee.org by September 10th

Attendance is limited

The first hour of parking is free and the second is only 50 cents

Posted in Uncategorized